Week 3: The World on His Shoulders

Most men feel that it is their job to provide financially for their families.  Even if you personally make enough income to support the family’s lifestyle, it would make no difference to the mental burden he feels to provide.  Your husband needs to be actively appreciated as the provider.

Weekly Challenge #3

Keep track of the number of times you show appreciation for all that your husband does in the area of provision.  What imaginative ways can you find to lighten his “provider burden” a bit?

Let’s memorize some scripture!  

Colossians 3:14-15

Above all, (put on) love – the perfect bond of unity.  And let the peace of the Messiah, to which you were also called in one body, control your hearts. Be thankful.

Questions for Reflection

These are questions to encourage reflection and application.  Again, please do not feel limited to these questions.  Comment when and if you feel led and freely share what God is teaching you.  Most importantly, make sure you are respecting your man in your comments.

  • How did your study of Scriptures this week help you understand a man’s driving need to provide?
  • Do you ever gripe about your man’s work habits? How has your understanding changed?
  • What is God revealing to you about worry?  How can your worry affect your man? What changes do you need to make?
  • Share the most important insight you have acquired this week.
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. chrissy74

     /  October 3, 2011

    Okay, so God really opened my eyes this weekend. At Asher’s soccer game Saturday, Allen Roe, the Upward coordinator gave the devotion. He challenged any families that currently didn’t have a home church, or who used to attend, but had fallen away to join us at HAFBC on Sunday. He told them that he personally would reserve them a parking spot + have donuts and coffee. Now here is the CRAZY part…I didn’t the least bit put out by this, but I could have. I could have said, “But I come every week, I deserve a front row spot, coffee + donuts!” Guess what, obviously I didn’t because it was more important to me that these families feel loved, welcomed, and respected. None of us would have acted so selfishly. Why then do I think it is okay to treat my man differently? I justify by saying, “I deserve to have the night off from the dishes because I cooked.” “I deserve for him to stay home and spend time with the kids because I do it all the time.” None of the things I decided to be bitter over are any more important than a silly parking space. Being right or having things done my way is no more important than that parking space. If I can focus on this idea, God will be glorified in my marriage and that is worth more than any earthly want or desire:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

